Frog Facts for Kids

A Picture of a Frog
  • Name: Frog
  • Order: Anura
  • Suborders: Archaeobatrachia, Mesobatrachia and Neobatrachia
  • Total Species of Frogs: 6,300+
  • Lifespan: 4 to 15 years
  • Diet: Carnivorous
  • Range: Worldwide (Expect Antartica)

14 Frog Facts for Kids

  1. Frogs belong to the Anura order, which is a large group of diverse, tailless amphibians.
  2. There are over 6,300 known species of frogs, both living and extinct.
  3. Frogs can be found on six of the seven continents (excluding Antarctica) on our planet.
  4. Frogs come in many different sizes and colors.
  5. Frogs can come in green, yellow, orange, red and purple colors. Some frogs are solid colors, while others are a mixture of multiple colors. They can have patterns on their body, including spots, patches and stripes.
  6. The smallest frog, the Paedophryne amanuensis, is only 0.30 inch in length.
  7. The largest frog, the Goliath Bullfrog (Conraua goliath), can reach up to 13 inches in length.
  8. Frogs start out life as an embryo in an egg. When they emerge from an egg, they are called tadpoles. Eventually the tadpoles go through a process called Metamorphosis and become a frog.
  9. A gathering or group of frogs is referred to as an army.
  10. Frogs don’t drink water using their mouths, they absorb water through their permeable skin.
  11. Because frogs absorb water through their skin, they are usually one of the first animals to be affected by pollutants in a body of water.
  12. Poison dart frogs are one of the most poisonous animals on our planet.
  13. The Argentine horned frog (Ceratophrys ornata) that is fully grown can eat adult rodents, like a rat.
  14. The study of frogs falls under Herpetology and a person who studies frogs is called a Herpetologist.

Additional Resources on Frogs